Julianne Gibbs

Office: Chemistry E3-52
Office phone: (780) 492-7140
julianne.gibbs@ualberta.ca

Individual-7562
Juli has long been interested in how confinement at interfaces and in (bio)materials can influence processes like molecular recognition and specific ion effects. This interest leads our group into fundamental studies of processes at interfaces and also into the design of new material properties based on our ability to take advantage of the unique environment that such interfaces present. When Juli is not thinking about chemistry, she loves cooking, yoga, building “machines” out of cardboard boxes with her almost 4-year old, and chatting over wine or coffee.

 


Post-doc fellow

Dr. Eiman A. Osman

eiman@ualberta.ca

 

 


Graduate Students

Hansol Park

Hansol Park
Hansol’s research area is on organic synthesis of modified DNA oligos. Another interest she has in on developing green chemistry methods for molecular electronics. When she has free time, she likes to watch movies, cook and hang out with her friends. hansol@ualberta.ca

Mokhtar Rashwan

Mokhtar’s research is on using nonlinear optics to understand the behavior of different interfaces like silica/water. Another interest is studying photovoltaics surfaces using nonlinear optics. Mokhtar enjoys playing and watching soccer, and watching Egyptian movies and TV series. mrashwan@ualberta.ca

 

Shyam Parshotam

Shyam’s interests lie in the realm of theoretical and computational chemistry. He is precisely interested in applying quantum calculations in determining properties associated with nonlinear optics. Besides being a badass, he is into gym, yoga, and online game. parshota@ualberta.ca

 

Nahida Akter

Nahida’s research interest lies in materials chemistry, nanotechnology, and inorganic synthesis. Her present research project focuses on the synthesis of self-healing and self-replicating nanomaterials for the applications in solar cells and batteries. At her free time, she loves reading books, experimenting new dishes, and spending quality time with family and friends. nakter@ualberta.ca

 

 

Santiago Tijaro Bulla

tijarobu@ualberta.ca

 

Anantha Ealeswarapu

ealeswar@ualberta.ca

 

Nathaniel Tetteh

ntetteh@ualberta.ca

 


Undergraduate

Grace Deng

jingfang@ualberta.ca